Tags

,

480268_10151759576553084_134245706_n

I really want to get sushi buffet today for lunch, and I have been racking my brain all morning trying to figure out how I can fit that in, but I can’t. It’s not possible. I had lots and lots of beer last night – surprise spontaneous beer, not planned beer – and I am meeting some friends for brunch on Sunday where I plan to eat bacon. BACON!! Mmmmm toasty bread bacon toasty bread bacon. One of the girls who is going is Jewish so I hope to have her bacon, too.

Some would say what’s the big deal, have sushi buffet, sushi is healthy!!

To them I say, yes, sushi is healthy, but you cross that line when you clear the entire buffet display, which is the only reason I want to go to sushi buffet. I don’t go to buffet-anything to munch on a reasonable sized portion of steamed asparagus.

So no sushi buffet for me today. I’m letting that thought go. Dubai thought, dubai sushi…

What I WILL have, though, is a wonderful tasty dish I make myself that uses kale and other whole foods. YEAH!

Weekend kale surprisie.

I like to celebrate my love of kale on most weekends by preparing a big dish that uses at least one bunch of kale. This weekend it’s also gonna have some black beans. I wish I had an onion but I do not, so I will use shallot. Don’t hate me because I am beautiful. Recipe to be filled in when I figure out what the hell to do with black beans and kale besides just adding a shallot.

General dried beans preparation

2 cups dried organic black beans. Rinse, separate, look for rocks. Put in large pot, cover with hot water (2 inch above beans), sit on counter for 2-8+ hours.

Drain water. Rinse with cold water. Refill with water to 2 inches above beans. Put lid on top (you can crack it if ya want). Bring to a boil, then reduce to medium, cover all da way, cook for 1.5 hours til beans are soft, adding water when needed.

Drain. Freeze some. Use some. Half and half.

Awesome bean soup/stew/good stuffs preparation

3 cups black beans, prepared as above
2-3 tsp spicy mix
1/2 tsp cinnamon maaaaaannnn
salt and pepper
bunch of torn kale
onion
few cloves garlic, smashed and cut
2-3 cups of water (you can use chicken broth if you must)

Saute garlic and onion in tiny bit of oil. After a few minutes add spicies. Add beans and some water. Add kale. Stir it all up, let simmer for just a bit. (You can also use chicken broth for some of the water if you want.)

Helpful bean things

  1. How to cook dried beans: http://www.5dollardinners.com/how-to-cook-dried-beans/
  2. Measuring dried beans: http://www.foodsubs.com/Beans.html
    1 pound dried black beans = approx 2 cups of dried beans = 4-5 cups cooked
